Posts Tagged ‘cartoons’
Kid of the 80s


For three months in 1982, we had The Gary Coleman Show. The Saturday morning cartoon was based on the made-for-TV movie The Kid with the Broken Halo.

In the cartoon, Andy LeBeau, an apprentice angel, was sent back to Earth to earn his wings by helping others. In each of the 13 episodes, Andy helped a child in need and resolve his problem. Each 30-minute episode consisted of two 15-minute segments.

The Gary Coleman Show aired on NBC from September 18 to December 11, 1982.

Kid of the 80s


Do you remember Popeye and Son? The Saturday morning cartoon only aired for one season and thirteen episodes on CBS.

Popeye and his long-time girlfriend, Olive Oyl are married and have a son named Popeye Junior. He has inherited Popeye’s ability to gain superhuman strength from eating spinach; however, Popeye Jr. hates the taste of spinach (preferring hamburgers), much to his father’s disappointment

Popeye’s rival Bluto has a wife of his own and they also have a son named Tank. Like old times, Popeye and Bluto are rivals, so goes to their sons.

Kid of the 80s


The New Scooby and Scrappy Doo Show premiered in September 1983. The name was changed to The New Scooby-Doo Mysteries in 1984.

The New Scooby and Scrappy Doo Show was the sixth incarnation of the Hanna-Barbera Saturday morning cartoon Scooby-Doo. The original Scooby-Doo, Where Are You! premiered in 1969.

Scrappy was introduced in to the Scooby-Doo lineup in 1979. The character was added to the cast to save the show’s ratings, which by 1979 had begun to sink to the point of cancellation threats.

Scrappy remained an integral part of the Scooby-Doo franchise, on both TV and in Scooby-related licensed products and merchandising, through the end of the 1980s. He did not appear in any Scooby spin-offs throughout the 90s.

Kid of the 80s


Mister T aired from 1983 to 1986. The cartoon stars Mr. T as a coach to a gymnastics team traveling the world while solving mysteries.

A total of 30 episodes of Mister T were produced and aired on NBC on Saturday mornings. Reruns were also shown on the USA Cartoon Express in the late 80s.

At the beginning of each cartoon, a live-action introduction featuring Mr. T was shown to explain the episode. At the end of each show, Mr. T narrates a moral lesson for the audience.

Kid of the 80s


The Get Along Gang showed us the importance of teamwork and friendship. The Saturday morning cartoon aired on CBS for 13 episodes.

The episodes first aired in the 1984-1985 season, with reruns from January until June 1986.

The Get Along Gang were originally characters created in 1983 by American Greetings’ toy design and licensing division for a series of greeting cards. The original gang included 12 pre-adolescent animal characters in the fictional town of Green Meadow, who form a club that meets in an abandoned caboose.

Although all 12 members of The Get Along Gang were in the cartoon, only the six core gang members (Montgomery, Dotty, Zipper, Bingo, Woolma, and Portia) had speaking roles.